DAC Students Dreams of State Come True

This past weekend our students traveled to Rainsville, Alabama, to compete in the Trumbauer District Competition. They took with them the sets they built, the costumes they designed and produced, and all the hopes that their hard work would advance them to Trumbauer State Competition. Our students competed in Individual Events and in a Group Event of The One Act. It was a full day of setting up, rehearsing, running from event to event, and performing. They suffered injuries, minor mishaps, fatigue and last minute changes, but they persevered and brought home the hardware to prove that the struggle is worth the accomplishment!

Our talented crew performed “Midsummer Night’s Dream” for their One Act and received Best in Show. This will be the 4th consecutive year that Donoho has taken a One Act to State Competition. We also received Best Costumes, Best Set, and Best Technical Production. Adam Stremmel received Best Supporting Actor. Carter Stremmel received Best Actor. Isabella Patten, Taylor Simmons and Ramsey Whitney were named All Star Cast.

The excitement did not stop with the One Act. Our Individual Event entries were a Falcon Sweep for State qualification. The following is a list of all the qualifiers for Trumbauer State Competition in Troy, Alabama, on December 5-7.

Solo Acting Contemporary Dramatic`
Isabella Patton

Solo Acting Classical Dramatic
Anastasia Budrevich Novice
Griffyn Burrage Varsity

AJ Long
Chloe Phillips
Adam Stremmel

Solo Musical Female Musical Dramatic
Ansley Simmons Novice
Taylor Simmons Novice
Ramsey Whitney Novice

Solo Musical Female Musical Comedic
Amelia Baker Novice
Jaiden Pennington Novice
Ramsey Whitney Novice
Autumn Hines Varsity
Isabella Patton Varsity

Solo Musical Male Dramatic
Carter Stremmel Varsity
Marshall Twigg Varsity

Solo Musical Male Comedic
Nathan Yingling Novice

Duet Musical Dramatic
Ansley Simmons and Taylor Simmons
Jaiden Pennington and McKayla Kelley

Group Musical
Griffyn Burrage, Chloe Cater, Autumn Hines, AJ, Long, Vishwa Patel, Chloe Phillips, Marshall Twigg, Carter Stremmel, and Nathan Yingling

Costume Design
Adam Stremmel Varsity

Make-up Design
Alexis Fink Novice

Stage Management
Susanna Harrell

Way to go, Falcons! For photos of our winning team, please click HERE.